Like gold…

It can happen to you, they insisted. The multitude of readers, many who read my tales of woe from the dating front-the ones who relieved their memories vicariously through my written words; they all told me that these things do and will happen. They told me to be patient, that someday, one day, that mysterious man would appear and everything would be like gold..
And then he came into the picture. And then he appeared, like vapour, like mist-an apparition. And I could not quite believe it, he didn’t appear solid; it was hard for me, oh, so hard, to believe, to trust that maybe those readers-all of you who steadfastly shared, stood by me and whispered your words of encouragement and solidarity from so far away; to believe that maybe you were right.. 
But you spoke the truth-the wisdom, all of that precious experience. You were right, these things do happen-a man, a good one, one who thinks the world of me would walk into my life-just like that, a momentous instant; just like that and my life would begin to alter. Just like that-a plain black and white world, shades of grey colouring every perspective-it would turn to gold…
My life is now divided; pre and post. My new life now involves him-it is no longer a selfish one-one where only I mattered, one where there was only me in a sphere, in a bubble. I now have to think about another person’s views, another persons’ life and his choices and his hopes. My life’s course is no longer on that same dreary track.. There will be different priorities, different outcomes. Pre and post; what a difference a day, a second, a moment makes…
It has happened; I have met him. It feels completely right-as he said, there is a feeling of familiarity. It is like coming home. The long journey, the arduous trek, it is the feeling, that indescribable joy of returning home after a long absence. I have come home and it feels like gold… 

14 thoughts on “Like gold…

  1. Times

    Wow. Sounds awesome!

    You also sound so much more mature and balanced now – esp towards the end. This is great because it shows regardless of how you were before, you’ve slowly made progress, matured and changed for the better.

    How about more posts telling us readers more about your new guy? Any meet-cute? How did you guys meet? Etc.

    lol, I feel nosy now :O

    ~

    Reply
    1. tyt84 Post author

      Thanks! I do feel like I have matured a bit.. Ever since that petulant incident with that other guy… πŸ™‚
      I will eventually get to the story of how we met.. Although it isn’t very interesting.. And it doesn’t qualify as a meet-cute. It was something that was so mundane, but I guess special in a sense, because had we not responded the way we did, there wouldn’t be an ‘us’ currently.

      Reply
      1. Times

        Um that sounds even MORE interesting than a meet-cute! Haha.

        Geez you’re cruel! I’m sitting here almost picking at my fingers and can’t wait! πŸ˜›

        ~

      2. tyt84 Post author

        Well, I’ll put you out of your misery.. It was a standard gay app thing.. πŸ™‚ nothing out of the ordinary, except for the fact that it was completely unexpected. It isn’t like one of those ‘we were on the same tram and our eyes met’ kind of stories.. Although perhaps we’ll tell people that’s how we met.. πŸ™‚

  2. Times

    I figured as much as it is 2015 and like it or not, gay or straight, we’ll most likely meet our dates online or on apps nowadays. πŸ™‚

    Don’t worry, I always said same thing. If I meet someone online or on an app, we’ll both say we met at Coles. Haha.

    Is that why you’ve been posting so sparingly lately? I just thought you needed a break from blogging. How long have you guys been going out + how long been official?

    ~

    Reply
    1. tyt84 Post author

      No, I’ve just been really busy with uni and the internship application process. Yeah, presumably most couples meet each other through dating apps these days, it’s become acceptable, commonplace even for that to happen. It hasn’t been all that long really; maybe a month ago? Perhaps it’s premature to gush on endlessly about him.. It does feel right though..

      Reply
      1. Times

        Oh yeah that too your current new study commitments. Almost forgot.

        Yeah take your time and savor the moments.

        Won’t interrogate further πŸ˜›

        ~

      2. tyt84 Post author

        Indeed. That is what he said to do as well, to savour the moments as they come… Advice I’d definitely take. πŸ™‚
        Hope your life is going well.. πŸ™‚

  3. Times

    Thanks and it’s been going alright(?) I guess.

    Thankfully nothing actually bad has happened so far but at the same time not much great stuff either. Kinda meh.

    Nowhere near as good as life is for you lately haha. Dunno why and maybe I’m just weird but reading your post before my mind somehow started thinking about pee as your title mentions gold… (yes golden shower ew lol) then it somehow turned something gross into something actually philosophical lol… I started thinking then that Love is like peeing your pants. Everyone can see it, but only you can feel the warmth…

    Haha I’ll stop now.

    ~

    Reply
    1. tyt84 Post author

      That’s good to know.. And what a delightful metaphor/analogy.. πŸ™‚ I only wish I’d thought of it first.. πŸ™‚ glad the blog entry ignited your creative juices.. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

